Perfectionist? How’s That Working For You?

photo from hairbrainedschemes on etsy (click on image to purchase)

photo from hairbrainedschemes on etsy (click on image to purchase)

 

Remember Sonic the Hedgehog?  I used to LOVE that video game!  It was the last video game I ever really loved…after that, video games became waaaay too complicated for me.  Anywho, I loved that game because it was not only fun but it was challenging, and I’m proud to say I beat the game eventually (you care…:)).  So, why am I bringing up video games, you ask?

Title screen from Sonic the Hedgehog, the firs...

Title screen from Sonic the Hedgehog, the first game in the Sonic franchise. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, I was speaking with a client the other day, and the analogy came to me about how we welcome obstacles and challenges in video games…but we sometimes act shocked when they come our way in real life.  I mean, think about how NOT fun a video game would be if it were super easy and didn’t take much to win?  In reality, the more difficult, the more we love it and the more of a thrill we get when we advance.  Why don’t we have this same attitude toward life?  I get it, we’re not an avatar…and life can’t necessarily be oversimplified so easily.

But, I say this to say that sometimes we take life a little too seriously.  We try to be perfect to AVOID obstacles when it’s going to happen anyway.  That’s what makes life interesting and exciting!  Life would be pretty dull if everyday went according to schedule.  We hate to admit this, but it’s true.  We even avoid starting something because we’re so sure that it’s not going to turn out right, or that we’re going to mess it up.  We sometimes set the most unrealistic expectations for ourselves and then sabotage our efforts out of fear.  So, relax.  Life is not about being perfect, it’s about how well you’re able to bounce back when life knocks you down.  It’s about allowing your circumstances to be a source of strength and growth.  It’s about having fun in the midst of chaos and learning to have a sense of humor when things don’t happen as perfectly as we’d planned.

So, get out there and start that project!  No, things are not going to go as planned.  Yes, you’re going to make mistakes.  But I promise you it will be fun if you’re open to seeing it that way.  Enjoy the journey toward your goals and try not to be so uptight.  It doesn’t have to be hard unless you make it that way.

___________________________________________

Need support in handling life’s obstacles and challenges with confidence and grace?  Visit my website or contact me and let’s get started!

Love,

Coach Tiko

DSCF1509

P.S. Subscribe to my newsletter for oodles of goodies!  Okay, not oodles, I promise not to flood your inbox.  🙂

36 thoughts on “Perfectionist? How’s That Working For You?

  1. AMEN!!! (I love the “get messy” too!)
    I have finally surrendered to the fact that all my challenges are gifts and lessons to support me in my dream. With this, I am having much more fun than I used to when I tried to avoid the chaos thru perfection! Letting go and loving the messy is a lifestyle art for sure!

  2. My second go at leaving a comment….
    AMEN!!! I have finally surrendered to my challenges being gifts to help me realize my dreams. I’m having much more fun seeing everything as a gift. Letting go and having fun is a lifestyle art for sure, it’s so much more fulfilling that the perfect life I tried to create before. xo

  3. Love this! I have wasted so much of my life not doing things because of being a perfectionist! I’m learning to just do it–have fun and laugh at my mistakes. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Oh, I have the perfectionist disease. I never want to put anything out, or invite people over, or host an event if its not perfect and nearly kill myself trying. I know, its not pretty, but I’m such a virgo!

  5. I’m far too much of a perfectionist. That makes it tough to complete things , because…..well, they’re never perfect enough.

    So I trained myself to stop boycotting myself in this sense. And now life is so much easier.

    Thank you for this wonderful post. Muah!

  6. Totally what I had to hear! Perfectionism always bites me in the @$$. But I work on releasing that mentality every day. I will def think of that Sonic analogy, I love it…it’s true, how boring life would be…thank you for writing!!!

  7. Some of the most valuable lessons I have learned, have come when life has knocked me down. It’s pretty awesome when you get through it, and you realize how much you have grown! 🙂

  8. What a wonderful post. I recently came to this profound realization that what I am open my mind to a place of “YES”, then the hurdles are so much easier to overcome. So much of the battle is in my mind. We are capable of miracles 🙂

  9. Perfectionism has been holding me back for far too long. I have myself a great business coach who has been helping me to ‘let go’. I love Patti’s comment above – life is both messy and beautiful. I can relate. Thanks for a great article.

  10. Perfectionism has been holding me back for far too long. Lucky I got myself a wonderful business coach who has been helping me to ‘let go’. I love Patti’s comment above – life is both messy and beautiful. Thanks for a great article.

  11. Great post! I think the video game analogy is perfect. I have a huge perfectionist bone in my body and am constantly telling myself to just dive in. It may not be perfect yet, but it’ll never be perfect if I don’t learn from experience and just try.

  12. Yes, perfectionism is a disease to avoid like the plague! Embrace mistakes and expect changes along the journey, they’ll happen anyway – perfectionist or not.

    Focus on growth instead, on how far you have come from the past & how much learned from making mistakes.

    ‘Mistakes happen, that’s why pencils have erasers’ ==> this former teacher LOVES that quote!

  13. as a recovered perfectionist, i see such wisdom in your words: “Life is not about being perfect, it’s about how well you’re able to bounce back when life knocks you down.” by allowing myself mistakes (and risking more as a result!), i am better able to embrace life AND to pass that experience on to my clients. thank you.

Leave a Comment

